Janelle Monáe Addresses Gay Rumors: “I Don’t Think There’s Anything Wrong with Being Gay or Lesbian”

Janelle Monae’s new album, “Electric Lady’ lyrics are causing some to speculate that perhaps Ms. Monae may have feeling for the same sex.

 

“Q.U.E.E.N.” featuring Erykah Badu, she sings, “Am I a freak because I love watching Mary?” and “Hey sister am I good enough for your heaven?” In “Givin Em What They Love,” she refers to a woman following her to a lobby for some “undercover love.”

 

Janelle apparently was not aware of the rumors swirling due to the content of her new music.

“I actually have never heard that,” Monae told Pride Source Thursday. “This is the first time I’m hearing it. But I will say that a lot of my work always comes from an authoritative stance, so it may not be about me; it may just be about a story, or something that I’ve witnessed, or my imagination. You just never know.”

Ms. Monae quickly dispelled the rumors however by saying,  “I don’t think there’s anything wrong with being gay or lesbian or straight or black or green or purple, so I’m OK with that.”

“I’m a uniter,” Janelle said. “I won’t allow myself to be a slave to my own interpretation of myself nor the interpretations that people may have of me. I just live my life, and people can feel free to discuss whatever it is that they think and use whatever adjectives they feel. It’s a free country.”

Janelle in the past told Rolling Stone that the “lesbian community has tried to claim me” but that she only dates androids.

2 thoughts on “Janelle Monáe Addresses Gay Rumors: “I Don’t Think There’s Anything Wrong with Being Gay or Lesbian”

  1. Pingback: Janelle Monae Talks Gay Rumors : 4UMF

  2. Pingback: Did Janelle Monáe Come Out On Her New Album? - getmybuzzupgetmybuzzup

Leave a Reply

